YouTube!

The variety of videos found on YouTube is unreal.  There are three types of YouTube videos I would like to examine.  The three types are a tutorial, a speech and a Harlem Shake.

The tutorial I enjoy is one my cousin created to explain how to do a “Boho Braided Headband.”  This is a great video for girls like myself, who enjoy creating different hairstyles.  She is very diligent in giving specific instructions.  The video is only five minutes long and sticks specifically to the purpose, which is how to create the hairstyle.  The link for this video is, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvs1v1xh1Go.

The speech is the second type of video I am reviewing.  The video I chose could be considered controversial.  Regardless of whether you are in support of the point Dr. Susan Gratia is making or not, I think everyone can agree this video is extremely moving. In this speech she is giving her account of the shooting she was a victim of.  She explains the moves of the shooter and how both of her parents were killed. The purpose of this video is for the speaker to give her opinion of gun rights and the second amendment.  The link to this video is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1u0Byq5Qis.

One of the most recent video fads has been the Harlem Shake videos.  I have no idea what video was first but I remember watching one for the first time.  I could not figure out what the point was, but I just remember thinking how crazy it was.  I realized there is no education point to these videos but instead they were simply meant to be humorous.  One of the Harlem Shake videos that I thoroughly enjoyed was the one created by the University of Georgia’s Swim and Dive team.  This video was filmed completely underwater and the participants are able to stay at the bottom of the pool.  I think this is such a good video because it is such an amazing athletic ability to say underwater for that long. The link to this video is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkNrSpqUr-E.

These videos are examples of the very different types available for YouTube viewers.  I am sure there are many other great videos that fall into these three categories.  It is great that there is such a variety of entertainment through YouTube videos. 

Leave a Reply

